The McCarthy name as been associated with furniture since Peter McCarthy established a cabinet making factory in Francis Street (near the site of The Arthurs Quay shopping centre) in 1830. C1850s the company opened a retail shop in Georges Street (now O’Connell Street). At the time the company also operated as a Funeral Directors, an Auctioneering firm and ran a cinema and music store. In 1937 the business was transferred to William Street.
Over the next 70 years the company developed a loyal city and county trade. In 2007 with changes in retail patterns it was decided to relocate to the Delta Retail Park in Ballysimon.
The new much larger showrooms provides a showcase for the most up to date trends in furniture. While the company has grown over the years, the McCarthys always demonstrate a personal and honest approach to business.
Peter McCarthy set up a cabinet factory at 10 Francis Street, the commercial heart of Limerick.This mahogany secretaire cabinet is an example of their work and bears a label dating back to this period. It appeared for sale at an auction in Mullen’s of Bray, Co. Wicklow in October 2007. The next photograph is of our cabinet maker’s label from later in the 1800’s.
A retail shop was opened at 38 Georges Street (Now O’Connell Street).A sales rooms was also located at 5 Lower Cecil Street.
A new shop was opened at 53 Thomas Street.
A fire in William Street destroyed no’s 18 to 22.
Two separate companies were created for the William Street and Thomas Street shops, and since then they are owned and managed independently.
The William Street business re-located to its present location at Delta Retail Park, Ballysimon (pictured). The Thomas Street business re-located to the Eastway Business Park.